Master Bill DeGrafft
2 min readJan 2, 2021

Why I started in Martial Arts…

Some of out Blackbelts and Blackbelt candidates

Let me tell you a quick story about how I got started taking martial arts classes.

At the time I was trying to join my daughters in an activity that would help us stay connected. .

I was struggling with the fact that I was traveling extensively and started to feel a disconnect..

And I was getting more and more disconnected from my kids due to the travel load.

Then the bottom fell out from under me when I injured myself working out at a gym and had to have surgery. I came to the realization that training in the gym too much for my aging body and that I needed another activity to fill the void..

Which meant I couldn’t workout.

As you can imagine, I was in bad shape and desperate, but I wasn’t ready to give up on my dream of staying in shape for my kids as I got older.

Then I was introduced to martial arts training and everything changed for me..

At that point, everything changed!

I discovered:

· I could get a good workout

· I learned to protect myself

· I also made a number of awesome friends along the way

Because I discovered martial arts training, everything changed for me, I was able to:

· Better communicate with my children

· Trained and got results that changed the way I thought

· Learned to defend myself

Now I’m living my dream of staying in shape for my kids as I get older.

And that’s why I’m encouraging you to get started in martial arts so you can experience staying in shape for your kids as you get older too!

Master Bill DeGrafft
0 Followers

Master Instructor and Owner at Ponte Vedra Martial Arts Academy, President Ponte Vedra Martial Arts Inc